artist converation- timothy cooper

the plates are designed like a cross. It depends on the angle and mentality at which you decide to look at the piece with. For some reason the plates really drew me in. The lighting also casted shadows beneath the plates which gave it a more intense look. In my picture, the plates look a little like they were floating, but again it’s just the shadows. I thought it was pretty cool something as random as plates could be made into art. I could not exactly decipher or understand what they piece was supposed to represent. Honestly to me, it looked cool and that is why I picked this piece.  All in all, the piece was interesting to look at and the lighting made it look even better. It was an awesome display.\

Learning about the exhibit, I figured out that there were 145 plates. These were made with stoneware clay and a satin white glaze fired to about 2250 degrees Fahrenheit. This is incredibly hot, and it only makes me wonder the process behind these plates. Something so simple was made with so much care. Knowing this process gives more valuable to the plates. This is amazing work and facts! the simplicity of this project is what attracted me so much …20141113_111144check out his page https://wordpress.com/tag/gatov-west/

Leave a Reply

